Some people think that by paying taxes they have made enough contribution to their society, others think there are more responsibilities than paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that taxpayers have contributed to the country through the tax system, so it is not necessary for them to assume other responsibilities in society.

I disagree with this idea.

If all citizens pay taxes, governments will have tax revenues that can fund some essential services. For example, the medical service can help heal the sick and ensure that all people can maintain health, while the law enforcement system can bring criminals to justice. Therefore, taxpayers’ contribution can help keep governments operating effectively, which is beneficial to social stability.

On the other hand, the alternative view is that citizens can also participate in volunteer work, and help those needy people with loving nature. These volunteers can work in nursing homes to take care of the elderly, or donate money to charities which look after the homeless. As everybody fulfills these responsibilities, it can help create an ethos of sharing and improve social solidarity.

In my opinion, taxpayers should also pay closer attention to the environmental cost of their lifestyle and make an effort to preserve the ecosystem for future generations. Motorists, for instance, turn to public transport to conserve energy and alleviate pollution, which has environmental benefits. In contrast, if taxpayers focused solely on taxpaying responsibilities and did not realize their environmental responsibility, their habits might cause damage to the environment.

To summarise, it is my personal view that apart from paying taxes, individuals should also give importance to other responsibilities.