In the world of industrial economy most persons need to do an occupation to earn money, after their school or university education, in order to meet their basic needs. Furthermore, everybody likes to get a job with adequate compensation in relation to the work or service done. It is nothing wrong if a person consider the size of the salary when he choosing a job. However, it has been argued that money should be the key consideration in selecting a job with everything else is second to it. In my opinion, it is a wrong approach in deciding the career this way and there are so many other factors to consider to avoid cheerless situation and career development in one's life.

Salary is an important thing to all of us to make our livings. We need to spend this money on foods, housing, clothing, traveling, education among many other things. Undoubtedly, city dwellers in metropolis such as Tokyo or London need much higher earnings as their cost of living is substantially high. If, we do not get adequate money for the work we done no body will keen to do that job as there is a risk of having a difficult life. This may be the reason why lot of parents do not want to select sports or music by their children even they are talented in these fields. However, if a person select the job depend on money alone there are certain other things that he might loss in life as well.

In addition to the money, factors such as happiness, job satisfaction and job security are also important things that one should think in enrolling for a job. Personal relationship and friendly environments are very important not only to work peacefully in the workplace but in professional achievements and target completion. Further, everyone of us may prefer to do a job in relation to the knowledge and skill we learnt in our schools or university time. In such circumstances job security also very high as we do our work more confidently. A person, who got medals for swimming during school time may prefer to work as swimming coach rather than work as an cook in a hotel.

In conclusion, although money needs to consider in choosing a job, obviously this does not play a pivotal role. Although, money give us a tangible value for our work, there are so many other intangibles which have a similar value or more to it in work place and personal life.