A job is an important part of life. Longer periods of waking hours of our life are spent doing a job. It is a necessary requirement for most of us to pay our bills. A person with higher income can have an extravagance lifestyle for himself and his family members as well. Therefore, it has been argued that, salary income is the only factor to be considered in selecting a carrier. However, in my opinion job satisfaction not solely depend on money, and there are several other equally important things to look for.

In further illustration, higher paying jobs have a higher demand for working hours. Companies and management always try to squeeze out the maximum from the employer. As a result, worker may have to work beyond their standard working hours. They find adequate time to enjoy neither himself nor with his family. For instance, house maids from low income countries are coming to work in Middle East countries for two to three years and not only scolded, but beaten as well to force for more work. Some of them have suicide due to harassment by horrible bosses.

On the other hand, distance from house to work place is an important aspect to consider. Shorter distances can ensure more leisure time for worker, as it can reduce undue traveling time. Greater distances invariably cost substantial travel fair, which can lower the salary balance. Here, in Sri Lanka lot of school teachers try to get their job appointments as close as to their home towns to attend more to their families and do better savings to assign more money for their children’s higher education. Furthermore, every one of us is happy to do the occupation in relation to what we have learnt during school or college education. This will probably help to develop the carrier with more confidence, in addition to get promotions and salary increments with more experience, despite a minor position in a company.

In conclusion, treasure alone from a job is not the true pleasure for life. If, one does not select the path appropriately, it can lead to interruption of carrier and loss of more money than we could have earned. Wise selection is not hard, when we have an overall vision.