Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A section of people believe that physical strength is crucial for sporting success, whereas others are of the opinion that mental power is the most vital. In my perspective, both mental and physical strength are pivotal to achieving success in sport. This essay will examine both views with relevant examples to buttress my stand.

To start with, physical strength is a very import aspect of not just sports but healthy living. It is through this that one’s ability, physique and expertise for a particular sport is built, harnessed and honed through hours of rigorous practice. This can be done by painstakingly going to the gym, running, jogging, skipping and engaging in other tedious exercises which also helps in keeping the heart and other vital body cells fit. To exemplify, a 2015 survey by the world football governing body, FIFA showed that a naturally born footballer who is not physically strong is most likely to lose form.

On the other hand, mental strength is a vital quality that is required of any sport’s person if success must be gained. It is through this knack that one pushes his body past the pain, the suffering and strenuous training routines. This can be nicknamed ‘the ability to not give up’. During a boxing bout, for instance, surveys carried out by World Boxing Federation (WBF) showed that even though boxers may lift the same amount of weight, have the same punching power it is their mental strength that stands them apart. This is the distinguishing factor: the ability to endure more punches than your opponent.

In conclusion, both abilities are important for reaching any set goal in sport because although physical power builds one physiological abilities it is his mental strength that pushes him past the pain. So to attain success, a combination of mental and physical strength is needed.