Some people think playing computer games is bad for children on everything. Others think it has some positive on the way children develop. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different views about the impacts of video games on the development of children. While some people believe that playing computer games is bad for children on everything, I believe that it does bring several benefits.

On the one hand, it is true that electronic games can have some adverse effects on children. Firstly, these games can diminish children's cognitive abilities. Indeed, the more time schoolchildren spend on online games, the poorer academic performance they can get, as they do not have much time for studying and doing homework. Secondly, playing video games contributes to the sedentary lifestyle of children, for the games require players to sit and keep their eyes glued to computer screens. Lastly, the contents in computer games are often violent that they may corrupt the innocent mind of children. Being excessively exposed to these contents, youngsters can become more aggressive, and they are more likely to develop anti-social habits.

However, I agree with those who believe in the merits of computer games. The first and probably the most obvious benefit of these games is that they provide players with much pleasure. Indeed, playing games can relax children's mind after an exhausting day of studying. On top of that, if they play computer games in moderation, children can even develop their level of intelligence. This is because games often provide puzzles and quests that challenge logical thinking of players. Further, some online games enable children to practice teamwork skills, which is crucial for their development. For example, Dota players need to play as a group of five, and they must collaborate with other players in the team in order to achieve success.

In conclusion, while computer games can have negative impacts on players, children can still benefit from them if they play in moderation.