Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about public health. When this issue comes into views, there exists many conflicting opinions. Some people share the view that only by passing laws related to nutritious food could government improve the health of citizens. Meanwhile, other people are of the view that health is the problem relying on private choice and responsibility. Both of the views have their own merits which require careful consideration.

On the one hand, some people strongly agree that the government should make laws to regulate the problems which refer to public health, especially the diseases. This is shown by the following example. A recent Australian study based on dietary intake data estimated the consequences of an additional 20% on SSBs in Australia on health and health care expenditure. The results indicate that a 20% tax on SSBs would result in an average 12.6% decline in daily consumption of SSBs, and a decline in obesity of 2.7% in men and 1.2% in women over a lifetime. Moreover, this study concluded that there would be sustained reductions in the incidence of diabetes, cardiovascular disease, and some cancers. Therefore, it is clear that regulations made by governments could bring a positive impact on the health of citizens.

On the other hand, some argue that personal choices are responsible for their health. Whatever laws are issued by the government, it is no use if individuals still consume what they like without worrying whether these types of foods are good for their health. In fact, despite many laws passed by the government to try to limit the number of people eating fast food, there are about 85 million Americans eat fast food on any given day. For this reason, it is obvious that in this case, public health depends on the determination of each person.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that community health is a problem of both government and citizens. From my perspective, I am of the view that only by taking actions together could public health be improved.