It is true that the question of whether to reward students with excellent academic results or those showing great improvements remains a source of controversy in the education field. While a number of people believe that only students achieving the highest grades deserve rewards, I would argue that praising students who achieve improvements is much more reasonable.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why awards should be given to students having excellent academic performances. [1] Firstly, this could create a highly competitive studying environment at school, seeing that students often desire to win prizes. As a consequence, school children could be encouraged to put their effort into studying for the highest scores. [2] Secondly, by adopting this approach, gifted students who are outstanding could be given opportunities to nurture their abilities. My secondary school, for instance, selects students with the best results for extra classes to develop their capabilities in order to take them to national competitions.

On the other hand, I believe that giving encouragement to those who make strides in their studies results in more favourable outcomes. [1]The first benefit is that this could give equal chances for every student to receive awards, rather than only focus on the highest achievers. Instead of feeling disappointed when competing with their top classmates, students who are recognized for their effort during semesters will feel motivated if they are rewarded for making significant progress. [2] Another benefit is that this form of recogniton follows the holistic principle of learning, which is to access the world of knowledge, not just to gain high scores. Consequently, several common phenomena which occur when examinations approach, including pressure, anxiety and cheating, would be reduced

In conclusion, although rewarding students with the highest scores is advantageous to some extent, it seems to me that it is better to give encouragement to those who have improved their level of academic performance.