It is important to consider which students should be honored for their work in examinations. While many consider that those who improve their grades should be considered for recognition, I would argue that one with outstanding curricular results should get this privilege.

To begin with, many consider that pupils who achieve better scores compared with their past exams are ought to be honored. This is because, if they can improve their scores with self-determination, external appreciation such as memento and felicitation can motivate them to scale greater highs. Consecutively, a university can soar number of bright students they have from one batch. To illustrate, when Oxford university conducted a similar experiment, it was concluded that number of bright candidates jumped up 30 percent.

On the other hand, I think, rewarding best academic performer encourages healthy competition among peers. This is because rewards such education fees waiver, scholarships and relaxation in assignments excite students to become extraordinary performer. As a result, they tend to do thorough study and gather highest grades. Additionally, this also helps institutions to build their brand image. For instance, IIT’s in India are considered as key technical institutions, who promote this type of reward system for students to filter outstanding brains in the country. Therefore, topper honoring mechanism is the key for both individuals and institutions to secure their future.

In conclusion, reward systems are although beneficial for universities to secure overall better results, these schemes foster healthy competition among students and help institutions to consolidate their market image