Some people think that schools schould reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvement. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The target to receive reward from school have been recently a controversal issue. there are certain people claim that the highest achievers should be the one to be honored, while others argue that it is essential to reward those who show better progress. As far as I am concerned, I would agree favourably with the latter argument.

Nowadays, there are schools which treasure the students with good academic scores. On the one hand, this provide gifted student the chance to fully develop their talent. For example, the high school I studied in is a school for gifted students where those who earn good results at certain subjects are trained in special class to participate in regional competitions. On the other hand, rewarding learners with best performance affects negatively to the others. The non-best students feel discouraged and as the consequences, they will have to try at all cost, for instance cheating in exams, in order to get good grades and receive the rewards.

Additionally, praising the students with improvements is beneficial to all students. Firstly, the students themselves might feel that their efforts are worthy. As the result, they are encouraged to keep moving forward with their innovation. Secondly, the other students will become motivated as they take those who get the reward by trying hard as good example for them. consequently, they will try to make their own progress in order to have their title like the others.

To summarize, even though rewarding students with the highest scores seems to be advantageous to some extent, I suppose it would be better if the encouragement is given to those who demonstrated progress in academic performance.