Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

Some people argue that schools should honor pupils who show excellent academic outcomes. Others, however, assert that rewarding students who show progress is more important. Both of the views will be fully analyzed as follows.

In the first place, there is no denying that there are a variety of reasons why only students achieving the highest grades deserve rewards. The first reason is that this can foster healthy competition among students. As a result, this encourages them to make their effort to achieve the highest scores. Another reason is that according to this way, students have more opportunities to continue to develop and nurture their talents. For instance, in high school, the highest achievers are selected to train thoroughly and to participate in national or international competitions.

On the other hand, it can hardly be denied that prizing students who make great improvement is much more reasonable. Firstly, this can give equal chances for all students to receive awards instead of only concentrating on those who get excellent marks. As a consequence, they feel motivated and strive to gain high scores. Secondly, by recognizing their efforts during semesters, students could show interest and increased participation in every class's duties and responsibilities. For example, teachers can simply pay a compliment as the recognition of their attempts. Therefore, Students’ pressure and anxiety on studying and sitting an exam may be lessened.

In conclusion, I find the latter more convincing. This can be well illustrated by the fact that it is better for schools to reward students who make academic improvements rather than those who accomplish the highest rating although this remains a source of controversy in the education field.