Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

It is often argued that schools should have learners with different abilities to be educated together. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that students should be selected by teachers according to their own abilities.

On the one hand, classes including different abilities of students can exert positive impacts for a variety of reasons. The primary cause would be that mixed ability classes encourage everyone to achieve their potential. The second reason is that when streaming, students from wealthier families tend to be better prepared but those from poorer families may receive less support from parents.

On the other hand, streaming would be a much better choice in schools. Firstly, teachers can work at the right speed for their students and plan more suitable lessons for them. Knowing their pupils’ weakness and strengths, they can change their methodologies so as for students to achieve fruitful results at the same pace because there are not major disparities in ability within the stream. Secondly, selecting students according to their abilities shape their confidence since no one is made to feel inferior or stupid in comparison with other peers. In fact, such types of classes offer scholastic as well as friendly competitiveness which is, in itself, motivational. Therefore, high-level groups may make faster progress and lower level groups can benefit from a slower pace.

In conclusion, even though many people reckon that every student should be mixed together on one classroom, I strongly believe that streaming should be applied at every school worldwide.