Some people think secondary school should have a class of international news. Others believe it is not necessary. Discuss both views and give your opinion.
Because of the IT revolution and the faster means of travel, we do not belong to a big
planet ‘Earth’; we belong to a small global village which is very well connected and
that is why there is a debate as to whether secondary school students should study
international news as a subject. In this essay I shall discuss both views followed by my
opinion.
Admittedly, the youth of today can benefit by studying international news as a
subject. This would enrich their experience and broaden their horizon. From the news
of any part of the world students would become aware of the social, political and
environmental problems faced by that country. This could motivate them to do
something for their country if they are lagging behind or even help the other nations
by volunteering to help. For instance, when Tsunami struck Japan voluntary workers
from all parts of the world reached out to help. Moreover, the significance of opening
international news subject is that students can have a general view of the world which
could help them decide their career.
On the other hand, as secondary schools students face stiff competition nowadays it
would be unfair to add the burden of another subject. Moreover, ‘international news’
would have an ever changing syllabus and so would be practically impossible to
introduce as a subject. Finally, in the pluralistic society of today, some news may hurt
the sentiments of any particular sect of people and could give rise to conflicts.
In my opinion, international news should not be introduced as a subject. However,
steps should be taken by secondary schools to keep students abreast of what is
happening in the world by having a short (5 minute) session in the morning assembly
in which every day a student could speak the headlines. This would keep students up-
to-date without having the tension of memorising things
To, put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, international news should not be a
subject but students should be made aware of the international scenario in other
informal ways.