Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The world today has become quite dynamic and news stories develop almost every minute. Some people think reviewing the news need to become a high school subject while another group disagrees.

Reviewing global news could have a number of benefits for students. Firstly, this would definitely improve their general knowledge in areas like geography, since the news come from around the world and often include lots of details about different locations, their customs and manners. Therefore, they would possibly gain a better understanding of the world and its features. Secondly, studying the news can develop the students’ ability to analyse sophisticated situations because when they follow a story, say, about a political rift between two countries, they could observe how it develops or escalates, how the parties involved act and what consequences are.

Nevertheless, there are some arguments against teaching international news at high schools. Most importantly, the violence portrayed in many of today’s news stories could affect students’ conduct. For instance, almost every newspaper and news website these days is filled with images and stories of the Syrian civil war, which are likely to make youngsters feel insecure or make unreasonable judgements about any Arab friends they might have. Furthermore, reading and analysing the news would probably be a time consuming activity which could lead to less time remaining for more important subjects and activities like sciences, math or physical education.

In conclusion, I personally believe it is wise for secondary school students to study global news at school, but it would be wise if stories are chosen and adapted for the class by a group of educational experts and psychologists to avoid the negative effects discussed above.