It is often argued that competitive learning is better and should be encouraged in children instead of co-operative learning. These two schools of thought have both their advantages and disadvantages which will be discussed in this essay.

A competitive mindset in children instills in them an attitude to do their best and to go an extra mile to win. Where competition is exhorted, the kids learn to independently research, study and achieve good grades. Thus, they attain their individual goals. However, competition should be encouraged in a positive environment where proper values are taught whether in winning or losing. Otherwise, competition may foster selfishness and pride on those who win and depression, tantrums and discouragement in those who fail. If not monitored closely, children end up despising the games and lessons they are supposed to enjoy because of fear of failure.

On the other hand, co-operation in students encourages teamwork and communication among each other. The weaker children are helped by the more capable ones to achieve a common goal, which is to pass or win. Unfortunately, this leads to frustration on some students who may feel that they have obtained an undeserving mark because of the amount of work that have put in, due to others in the team who did not contribute much. Also, it encourages laziness and a sense of dependency on some students who know that others will do all the work.

All points considered, I think that competition should be encouraged in a positive environment so that children learn to adapt to all situations in this ever growing competitive world. Though cooperation ensures that every child moves at the same pace, it puts a strain on other children. Therefore, I think it should be discouraged.