Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged, others believe that children who are taught to cooperate rather than compete become useful adults.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

A few individual assume that competitive spirit should be inculcated in young people, while others are of the opinion that young ones who are taught cooperation become responsible adult. This essay will discuss both sides of the debate and support instilling spirit of cooperation among children.

First and foremost, those who support a sense of competition amongst children believe that it helps them to imbibe autonomous power to strive beyond all odds. This is because they would desire for excellence and want to remain the best therefore,would strive to do everything within their power to get to the top. For example, I recently interviewed a high school student on the his reason for prefering to study alone, he responded that, he is striving to be the best in his class therefore, would not want to be distracted by other students. This example supports the above assertion.

Furthermore, those who support cooperation among children are of the opinion that it breeds interpersonal relationship between children as they work together to reach a common goal. Further and even more importantly, they feel that it breeds out selfishness from kids as they strive not only for their future success but that of others as well . this is exemplified by a famous doctor who was recently interviewed on national television on why he prefers sharing his knowledge with upcoming medical practitioners, he posited that from infancy he was instructed to work with others as teammate in all areas of life. thus it is apposite the above assertion that cooperation makes youngsters to become responsible adults.

In conclusion, while they are convincing argument on both sides of the debate as to whether to encourage competition or cooperation amongst children, I believe that cooperative attitude should be built up in children for a successful future.