Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is apparent that online networks have gradually become an indispensable part of every single person over the globe in these modern days. However, besides the advantages, some people consider that the disadvantages of these platforms outweigh their benefits. From my perspective, I believe that these social sites not only make people spend time on them unconsciously but also threaten organizations and national reputations.

On the individual level, using online networks wastes our time and leads to the pessimistic growth of mindset. There is a huge number of people consuming half-days on TikTok or Facebook for entertainment pleasure, such as updating news from relatives, chatting with friends instead of putting concentration on their work or study. Besides, every day, numerous pieces of news are published on the Internet and not every content is carefully censored, which may lead to their reduced quality and accuracy. As a result, they could affect adolescents’ attitudes, especially for those who are in puberty and become more sensitive, they would be misled and tend to follow these naughty actions. Recent research demonstrates that the number of teenagers addicted to online platforms is increasing significantly, step by step withdrawing themselves from real-world interactions.

On the community level, social networking sites also damage the organizations’ prestige and national security. Certain groups of people could take advantage of social media to release unfavourable information about their rivals, or a reactionary party may use their freedom of speech to public fake news about a country. Both of these actions will lead to social chaos as inhabitants’ belief in their leaders may be ruined, and once national security is destroyed, that country could be put in a dangerous situation. History has proved that there are numerous examples of nations that were damaged by the sabotages of abroad organizations through online platforms or some companies vacillated when competitors published unverified information about them.

In summary, the dangerous elements coming from social networking sites have had various negative impacts on daily life on both levels, individual to society, and it is necessary for everyone not to be dependent on these platforms.