Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

So popular are social networking sites, like facebook and twitter, that almost every single individual in today’s society are utilizing them on a daily basis with them via a computer or mobile phones. However, despite the potential risks they pose, they does exert more beneficial effects on individuals and society as a whole.

The access to SNS seems to take a heavy toll on the health of people and on the well-being of society. A case in point is that many minors and celebrities in particular, are easily bullied or harassed by hurtful and threatening messages posted or by the unflattering photos spreading on these social networking sites. Once becoming a target of cyber bullying, not only are those victims more likely to suffer anxiety, depression and even suicide, but this also further does harm to their life, work or study. What is worse, such will also lead to conflicts in real life, sometimes even crimes, an undersirable consequence that further detrimentally affects way more people as well as communities and thus significantly reduce social cohesion.

The exposure to these social media sites on the other hand is a facilitator in extending opportunities of formal learning for different people regardless of geographical location, cultural background and age. Compared with traditional education that learners have to be confined to a specific physical room, learning through SNS empowers them to interact with each other on an even larger scale, sharing information about their culture and work collaboratively and this is an significant way for them to acquire knowledge and therefore to broaden their horizons and enlarge their social circle. For adults, SNS, like facebook and skype, is also a useful, indispensible tool for workplace learning thanks to its regular accessibility through which employees could improve their expertise in a flexible way.

Social networking sites more often than not could function as an effective and efficient social media to promote civic engagement. For one thing, an increasing number of both governments and international organizations take advantage of its fast-spreading nature to advertise and to share public information and new rules and regulations to raise the public’s awareness of a particular field, such as public health and political activities. For another, the social network site is also a place where governments or policy makers could gather some information and ideas on whether a new policy should be implemented from netizens from different backgrounds to help them to make a wise decision.

In conclusion, detrimental as social network sites appear to be, they do benefit the general public and the whole society educationally and civically and as long as the Internet and media literacy is popularized, these benefits could be maximized.