Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that oral communication is becoming more effective than written communication. However, I partly agree with this idea as it relies on some certain circumstances

It is true that oral communication plays an important role in human lifestyle. First of all it is considered as the most common means of communication due to the fact that it is the oldest form. Not all people in the world have the ability to read, such as books, newspapers,etc and they have to resort to oral communication to receive information. For example, in Viet Nam, some citizens suffer from illiteracy owing to the past war, and they just can exchange information through talking. Furthermore, spoken communication can help to improve the interaction between humans. This is mainly because, while being in face-to-face conversation, we use oral communication combined with body language or facial expression. As a result, we may easily guess the feeling of each other, and the relationship can get better and better

However, it is undeniable that written communication is significant in some fields. Regarding economy and law, written form is much more suitable as they are regarded as the valid proof to support someone’s statement while spoken form is somehow unreasonable. Additionally, written communication is sometimes quicker and more convenient. For example, instead of meeting and talking directly, people can text via email or some other social media, which is less time-consuming.

In conclusion, it is quite difficult to make a decision which form is more dominant. Both of them can be used in different situations and I believe that they can be blended in some cases to solve a problem