Some people think that sports play an important role in society. Others think they are nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Regarding the issue of sports, there has been considerable controversy as some people hold the view that it is merely a recreational activity. From my perspective, I am inclined that sports are beneficial on both individual and societal levels.

On the one hand, it is beyond doubt that for some individuals, sports are pleasurable pastimes since there are other aspects of life that are more important to emphasize on. Evidently, many adults can only engage in such activities in their spare time due to the hectic pace of life. That is to say, they usually spend their time working and earning money in order to meet the increasing living expenses; hence, they only take up sports for fun rather than professionally. For instance, in Viet Nam, individuals often gather at the parks or playgrounds, forming teams and joining amateur matches to simply release stress and take a break from daily responsibilities. In fact, these matches have little impact on the local communities and very few players have the intention of following a career in sports’ field.

On the other hand, sports can derive innumerable benefits to the society. Undoubtedly, playing sports can help promoting a healthy lifestyle as it can have numerous desirable influences on individuals’ health. To be more specific, doing sports frequently can help fortify muscles, enhance the immune system and balance the blood circulation, reducing the risks of obesity and heart diseases. Moreover sports can contribute significantly to the nations’ economy. In fact, should the governments organise different sports’ championships, the sports fans worldwide will be willing to pay a huge sum of money for the tickets. In addition, by making use of those events, the tourism and commercial fields can also be developed.

In conclusion, while I agree that sports can be an enjoyable pastime, I also hold the view that sports are indispensable parts of the societies' development.