Some people think that there should be a complete ban on all forms of advertising. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Regarding the issue of advertisement, some people hold the view that it should be prohibited completely. From my perspective, albeit certain drawbacks, the adverts’ merits are far more significant; thus, it should be permitted to display.

On the one hand, it is beyond doubt that advertisements can derive innumerable benefits for both the businesses and individuals. In terms of customers, advertising popularizes newly launched commodities and gives them the maximum choices of products instead of sticking to one brand. Therefore, buyers can purchase items with more reasonable price and higher quality due to competition among retailers. Turning to conglomerates, adverts have a vital role to play in the economy as it helps boost sales, increase revenue and earn more profits. In fact, adverts that are well-designed with vivid pictures, witty language and content tend to attract more buyers, which evidently can help bolster the company’s image.

On the other hand, adverts can exert numerous devastating impacts. Undeniably, advertisements are now always truthful as companies tend to exaggerate the products’ quality and deliver distorted information in order to gain more public attention. In fact, advertisers mostly aim their market at children who are naive and easily influenced by misleading information so that they can earn more profits since children will put pressure on parents to buy them goods. Moreover, should television programs are interrupted by advertisements, the viewers will by disturbed and annoyed. Clearly, it is extremely nuisant to accept constant interruption passively that spoils the viewing without doing anything.

In conclusion, the benefits brought by advertisements obviously outweigh the disadvantages. It is highly recommended that governments should censor false information or products that are harmful.