Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, howerver, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Harsh castigations are believed to be the most efficient methods to diminish serious traffic collisions. Meanwhile, other people claim that government could apply other strategies to enhance the road safety. For me, people should flexibly combine different measures to simultaneously reduce the traffic accidents and ensure the safety to traffic participants.

On the one hand, there is an undeniable fact that many traffic shunts root from careless drivers’ faults. It is obvious that stricter chastisements could strongly impact on people’s psychology. As a result, the authorities would be able to force citizens to follow the traffic rules more carefully, and the road safety could consequently be promoted. For example, there are many accident cases in Vietnam resulting from the drivers’ ancohol consumption. By drastically raising the fine, Vietnam’s traffic condition experienced the considerable decrease of collisions in a long time period. Clearly, rigorous punishments are capable of making a great impact on people’s consciousness, thus enhance the traffic safety effectively.

On the other hand, there is no denying the fact that many other methods could be applied in order to lessen accident cases and promote the safety to inhabitants. In many countries, especially the developing nations, the transport infrastructures are currently in poor conditions. Therefore, one of many effective solutions for the accidents’ decrease would be the immediate improvement of traffic facilities. Additionally, people should also be encouraged to used public transportations instead of their private vehicles. Consequently, this method would totally lead to the increase of road safety and the better environment would also be a favourable side result.

In conslusion, from my personal perspective, I firmly believe that each solution has its advantage and disadvantage, so people should carefully combine them in order to effectively reduce the accidents and ensure the road safety.