Food is one of the most significant resources that keeps us alive, strong and healthy. Therefore, a considerable number of people believes that schools must provide classes about cooking and science of food to the students. Whereas another group of people thinks that it is waste of precious school time for youngs and they can learn more significant subjects which I agree with.

Firstly, being able to cook can save a lot of money for the people. If there is no one who can cook in the family, ordering from restaurants will be the only choice. When we consider that a normal person eats 3 times in a day, dozens of extra money would be spent on ordering food during the life period of one individual. Furthermore, being informed about the ingredients of different types of nutrition will make students choose what they consume more consciously. Correspondingly, they will select healthier nourishment for their own life quality.

On the other hand, cooking is an ability than can be learned in the family by help of the parents or close relatives. Moreover, in the modern lifestyle which youngs spend less time with their family, cooking is a perfect activity that can boost family bonds. Therefore, time spent on cooking classes can be used for other essential skills and science that would be challenging for students to learn with the family members. Furthermore, cooking will require a lot of extra equipment which will consume a great deal of school funding. Additionally, it will be a necessary requirement to keep students under a strict control during cooking classes because they can harm themselves with knifes or other sharp items.

To conclude, although the science of food and cooking classes could have some benefits to the students, time spent on cooking can be utilised for more advantageous and educational subjects which will have certain benefits on future career progression and life quality.