Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children are the future of the country and the things they learn in their childhood are important. Some people argue that cooking and preparing food though not as delicious as prepared in restaurant shall be known by the students, while the others say that the school time should be utilized in learning important subjects and concepts. Although I feel that students should focus and learn important subjects in the school time, a student should spend some time learning the science of the food and how to prepare them.

Firstly knowing the science of the food one of the most important things for a better health and well being. A person can eat unhealthy food not knowing its science and implications and end up getting serious diseases. For example many of the companies market their products are organic or as healthy whereas the contents printed at the back of the product state otherwise. If a person looks at the contents of the product and has some knowledge about the ingredients then he/she can choose the right product. Many of the popular foods in India contain MSG which is one of the most harmful ingredient for the human body. Though the companies market their products in a beautiful and attractive manner, if a person knows about the product then person can make a choice of buying or not buying the product. Knowing how to preparing food is also important for a person to be independent. Although a person can eat at restaurants or food joints, knowing how to cook food gives them an added advantage. For example, if a student who is going to USA for his masters degree knows how to cook food he/she can save a lot of money which otherwise would be spent at restaurants. The person can also save a lot of time because the person does not have to go to another place to have food and also a lot of time is saved by not having to decide where to go to have food.

Secondly the student must focus on learning important subjects as they are necessary for a better career of the student. Students should discover what they like and what interests them the most in school and try to read about that. Student has a lot of time and fewer responsibilities so they should focus on their studies. For example if a student has interest in computers then he/she shall start learning about that subject. The knowledge gained in the school will also help the student to accelerate their career growth.

To conclude I feel that the student shall learn subjects during the school time as they help them in the future and increase the knowledge of the kids. Knowing the science of the food and preparing them can be learned in the later years as well. They don't require significant time in a single day but require the person to study and learn about them continuously. Nowadays a person can easily learn to cook food by looking at the recipes on the internet.