Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

A leader is a person who directs people to the path. A leader plays an important role in the field he is working. People around and following him always have some or the other opnion. Some people also change opinions by getting influenced by other people. The author says that a leader who is quickly influenced by people achieves little. I mostly agree with the author.

Firstly the leader is known to be at the fore front and lead people by his morals, ethics, and ideologies. A leader should not get influenced by people around him. If he gets influenced by the popular opinions and shifts then the main ideologies on which he works on may be contradicted. For example , Mahatama Gandhi had to fight for years for practicing non violence as his ideology and help India gain independence. There were may opinions floating around him to leave non violence and practice violence and fight for independence. If he as a leader would get influenced by such shifts in opinions then the Indian freedom struggle by practicing non violence would not have been such a successful and revolutionary movement.

Secondly the leader should be aware about the popular opinions but should not get influenced by them. If the leader gets influenced by the opinions around him it is fairly possible that the people following him might just leave the leader as the opinion might not suit theirs. The opinions stiring in the public may or may not be the right and correct so blindly getting influenced by them will hurt the leader's reputation.

People who disagree with the author might argue that public opinions always change so the leader to be relevant must be influenced by the opinions.

They also argue that the leader is built by his followers, so getting influenced by the shift in opinions is fairly correct.

To conclude the leader should not get blindly influenced by the popular opinions, he should wisely choose the opinions to be influenced from.