Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A few people feel that food science should be added to school curriculum whereas others opine that preference should be given to learning other important subjects such as maths and science. In my opinion, it is crucial for children to understand) the benefits of food and learn cooking in school as knowledge about food will help them remain / stay healthy throughout their life and also cooking is a basic skill which everyone should learn from their early days.

As children easily get influenced by their teachers it would be a good idea to make them learn the importance of right food in school. This is because nowadays social media and television are full of advertisements related to unhealthy food options. So, if a child is aware of food science and how nutritious food would keep their body fit, that would encourage them to choosr correct food habits. In addition, cooking is a necessity and should be taught to everyone. The curriculum should have a subject such as home science where students can be taught how to prepare their own food. It would motivate them to indulge themselves in home cooked food instead of spending money on junk food available in markets.

Others who think school days should be used for learning important subjects such as maths and science would argue that these subjects help students in making successful careers later in life. Moreover, in their view, teaching students to learn cooking would distract them from the main subjects. This might lead to students performing poorly in important career-making subjects. However, in today’s time when childhood obesity is being very common, incorporating food science as a subject in school curriculum might help in curbing this issue. Also, there should be just one or two hours a week for learning to cook. This way, it will have no impact on children’s focus on core subjects.