Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Certain people hold the belief that researching nutrients and cooking skill play a fundamental role for students, whilst some assert that students ought to concentrate on the core subjects. From my perspective, I opine that scholars need to learn the knowledge of food to lead a healthy lifestyle. This essay will discuss some reasons supporting my ideas.

On the one hand, the academic subjects are imperative for student development in their age. Those subjects provide the foundation knowledge for them to smoothly transit into a reputable tertiary education, and in the foremost future, they can have more job opportunities and pursue their dreams in the competitive world. That is the purpose of the school curriculum, the desire to make pupils become all-rounded, which means that they need to pay an absolute attention to gain knowledge to meet the demand. This, however, might lead to a high pressure on them; they would cope with mental issues, which are to blame for a decrease in academic performance.

On the other hand, researching nourishment on a daily basis would help school children have the insightful knowledge to be more accountable for their wellness. In effect, they need to be healthy in order to carry on their studies. To ensure their well-being, they are obligated to familiarise themselves with the food and its nutritions so that they could form a reasonable eating habit to improve their immune system against diseases. They also know how to cook as some ingredients might do harm for them if it is used improperly. For instance, if the sprouted potatoes will cause food poisoning if they are cooked. In addition, doing prep cook is helpful for children to fend for themselves, and they are confident to live apart from their family.

In brief, it is debatable to advocate prioritising whether the compulsory subjects in education or food science. Both are really worthy for intellectual and social life development, but I firmly take the position that it is essential for school children to be full of insight into food to have a wholesome living.