Some people think studying in groups is better, while some think self-study is better for school students. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A good education is the most valuable asset a person can have. One can become well educated only by hard work and putting a lot of effort in. It is a process that lasts for a person’s whole lifetime, which starts at an early age. A large part of it comes from school period, so naturally, teachers and professors in schools question themselves what is the best and most efficient way their students can learn about specific matter. Some people think studying in groups is better, while some think students should study individually. I personally think a good education comes with a mix of both of these things. However, I believe that group learning needs to be encouraged more.

Since the beginning of human civilization, our achievements and advancements have always come from a group effort. Rarely does one person achieve great things completely by himself. Even when famous scientists came to revolutionary conclusions in their field, they mostly relied on work done by less known experts who lived before them. Greatness simply brings too much load for an individual to carry, because it is in our nature to work together as a unit. Having this in mind, I think school programs should emphasize students learning and working together. It makes learning more efficient and fun because students interact and discuss with each other. Furthermore, teamwork in schools will prepare them for their future careers or jobs in which skills which are required for working as an organized group are a necessity.

Nevertheless, self-learning is important as well. Some skills are difficult to learn in a group and need to be exercised until one has obtained and understood them on a deeper level. It might be hard for mentors to distinguish if some student in their class has not learned the matter properly or completely, so I think students should still devote some of their time on self-learning and self-testing.

However, more and more schools are dismissing rigorous individual learning and testing inherited from traditional education systems. Teamwork and group activities are recognized as an important part of modern education. In my opinion, it is a very positive development, and I think that trend should be carried on in the future, without neglecting individual work in gaining some specific skills.