Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn history. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

People have different points of view about the importance of learning history. While there are solid arguments in favour of the triviality of history, I personally believe that history does teach us precious lessons.

On the one hand, I understand why some people think it is pointless to learn from the past. First, history is a subject that is rarely used in people’s lives, and therefore, it would be better to focus on science or technology which is more relevant to the future and today’s society. Second, it requires us to memorize dates, names and facts when we study history, which have little use in our everyday life or for the future. This also discounts the significance of historical events as a subject for learning.

On the other hand, I would argue that studying past events is vital for two principal reasons. History helps young people have thorough insights into their own culture and how their culture and country have evolved. For example, in Vietnam, the youth need to understand how their ancestors defended the nation against invaders throughout many dynasties and maintain a sovereign and free country. As a result, not only does history develop their patriotism and pride, but also it gives people a sense of roots and belonging. Moreover, history depicts patterns of behaviour or events in the past and their outcome, hence helping people to avoid similar ones in the future.

In conclusion, some people think that studying history is worthless, whereas others believe that learning from the past is important to discover how we reached where we are these days. In light of both perspectives, I have to admit that history is certainly of value for our daily life as well as a grand future.