Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the funding of creative artists. While some argue that it is necessary for them to be financially supported by governments, I would argue that artists should seek different sources of funding.

On one side of the argument, there are many who claim that money for art projects should come from governments. First of all, the government is responsible for promoting local cultural development. People speculate this might be due to the fact that some public artworks not only contribute to the creation of distinct characteristics but also represent the identity, culture, and history of the nation. For example, in Vietnam, there are several sculptures and historical sites in the city, which are refurbished every year. Another reason is that artists do not have particular resources and consequently, they need the financial support of the government in order to access prosperity and become popular among people. This means that if artists did not have anxiety and stress about making a living, they would be more inspired to concentrate on their work and design stupendous works of art.

However, I would be inclined to argue against this as I believe that alternative forms of funding should be used to support creative artists. The first reason is that earning financial support through donations or organising events are some alternatives to assist talented people in society. For instance, an entertaining company can organize a live concert, which attracts more than hundreds of audiences. As a result, these corporations appear to be better equipped to promote skilled artists’ images and present their exceptional works of art to the public. Secondly, the government has to allocate resources for other aspects of life such as health, education, and the environment. If authorities invested a large amount of money in artists while the country is living in poverty, they would be starved of money.

In conclusion, some people think that talented painters and musicians should be invested by the government, whereas others believe that investments in art coming from other resources would be better. In light of both perspectives, I have to admit that both commercial and non-government organizations should support better artists.