Some people think that studying literature from the past is a waste of time for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To begin, literature is a significant subject for students. More specifically, teenagers can acquire numerous information from famous poems or novels such as its plot or vocabulary, hence reading these books might help student to obtain valuable knowledge and several interesting facts about it. For instance, the poem called “ Dong Chi “, which was written by poet Chinh Huu, tells us the story about the condition of Vietnamese soldiers when they were waiting for enemies in the dark . Therefore, students can be empathetic with soldiers and understand how miserable they have to suffer.

On the other hand, studying literature is not necessary for particular students. Since a number of Vietnamese schools nowadays allow students to choose their favourite subjects to learn, hence for those who make a choice of studying math, science and physics may only have to acquire the basic skills and knowledge of literature. To be more specific, teenagers, who see the world with a logical brain, do not fit subjects such as literature or history. Therefore, they can spend most of the time on researching their main subjects and developing it to a high level.