Some people think that studying from the past teaches us nothing about today’s life. Others argue that the history is a valuable source of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, Studying history has been attracting a great deal of public attention due to its substantial impacts on students’ academic attainments. Although the idea that this subject teaches students nothing about today’s life sounds reasonable, I believe that it is a valuable cornucopia of information.

On the one hand, It should be acknowledged that history teaches nothing about today’s life. History is invariably associated with many abstract historical events and heroic individuals in the past, which cannot be put into practice. This means that history-specialized students would not be equipped with empirical knowledge and practical skills, which could be a hindrance to their job opportunities in the long term.

On the other hand, there are a multitude of reasons why history is a valuable source of information. First, By identifying imperfections in laws through history, the administrations could obtain the opportunity to fix its existing statute and therefore get it perfected. In fact, Due to perceiving the disadvantages of communism related to economic development and social rights, Vietnamese government now adhere to capitalism and liberalism, feeding into the economic prosperity and equal human rights. In addition, the assimilation of historical deeds and events could act as an incentive for the patriotism in citizens. Subsequently, each individual will make attempt to learn and dedicate their life to their long-term development of the country.

In conclusion, I think that history is an indispensable subject in the curriculum due to its undeniable impacts in the development of the country. Official authorities should undertake some initiatives to incentivise the desire for history learning in every student at all ages.