Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crimes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, it is believed that the advancement of technology can decrease illegal activities, while others claim that it can drive people to commit crimes. Both viewpoints are reasonable, but personally, I gravitate toward the latter.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate developing technology that would help drop the criminals rates. Firstly, using modern materials would facilitate the law enforcement process. This is because the police force, equipped with a wide range of telecommunication devices such as walkie- talkie and the latest satellite phones, as well as modes of transport such as patrol care and helicopter, could respond to emergencies much more swiftly with closer collaboration. Secondly, many technological techniques provide vital evidence for crime investigations such as DNA- test, CCTV footages, fingerprint match in trials against suspects. In fact, many outlaws may have acquired by lack sufficient proofs in the past when technology was undeveloped.

On the other hand, I am convinced that the advancement of weapons and communication methods incentivize offenders to proceed their plan fearlessly for several reasons. The first reason is that it is easy for lawbreakers ranging from burglary to armed robbery having access to lethal destructive weapons in the dark market. This leads to them would able to fierce opposite to defend their illicit interests. In addition, followed by advanced bank systems, criminals could trade internationally. In fact, they can open many foreign bank accounts and use untraceable dark webs to successfully make a conspiracy, illegal money transactions.

In conclusion, there may be some reasons to support using new technology to reduce crimes, I believe that collateral damage caused by it coexists.