Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people believe that all teenagers should contribute to their community by doing unpaid work in their free time. While l agree that this would benefit both teenagers and the community. I do not consider that such unpaid work should be compulsory. On the one hand, teenagers can certainly help themselves and their local community by doing unpaid work when they have some spare time. Firstly, teenagers themselves will benefit by broadening their own experiences, such as learning new skills or working as part of a team. Secondly, having some voluntary work experience is a very useful addition to the resume of a young person when they apply for a job or university place later in life. It indicates a willingness to work and to learn in a practical way. Finally, the community benefits through the unpaid work done, because those jobs may never have been undertaken if financial resources were lacking.

On the other hand, I disagree that teenagers should be forced to do unpaid work. One reason is that the pressure of studying for exams leaves little time for students to pursue other activities. After school, there is always homework and revision, which have to b done as a priority. Another important factor is that young people need some free time to enjoy themselves, to develop hobbies and interests to take up a sport or to make new friends. If one of the interests of teenagers is to do some voluntary work, then this should be encouraged for all the reasons which have been discussed, and this voluntary system is surely the best approach. In conclusion, although I accept that working as volunteers can be beneficial for teenagers, I disagree with the idea that we should make this compulsory