Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasingly growing popular idea that young people should be forced to take part in volunteer activities to contribute to the society in their spare time. While I agree with the idea that it is beneficial to both students and the community, I believe that youngsters should not be obliged to do community service without being paid.

On the one hand, there are several benefits of giving young students the added responsibility of doing unpaid work. Firstly, by doing these works, teenagers are able to accumulate valuable experiences and essential skills for their future career. In addition, they will be given the opportunity to have better resumes, which is useful once they start pursuing higher education or seeking jobs. Finally, the community also benefits from this group of people as they help to finish the necessary work.

On the other hand, I disagree with the idea that serving the community without any financial incentive should be voluntary. One reason is that the amount of work that needs to be done at school is already enormous. Children nowadays are forced to attend several cram schools and extra classes, which, according to numerous parents, will help them to obtain better academic results. Another important factor is that youngsters need sometimes for themselves to develop their own interests, make some new friends or take up new sports.

In conclusion, although I accept that doing community service without payment is advantageous to both the society and students individually, I do not consider the idea that it should be made compulsory.