Some people think that we cannot learn the qualities of truly successful people at any universities or institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Success means a lot to people regardless of who they are. However, some people hold the view that the qualities of real successful individuals cannot be acquired from schooling. I just agree with this idea to some extent and this essay will clarify my position.

To begin with, it is an indisputable fact that some typical qualities of successful people cannot not be passed on from one person to another through education. One primary element is their talent, a gift from God and some people are lucky enough to possess such talents. For instance, Messi has gifted skills to play football and no matter how hard other people try, it is impossible to play the game at the level of Messi as his talent is unique. Moreover, successful people often have particular living conditions forming their characters such as diligence, perseverance, determination, sensitivity and honesty but schools may find it hard to recreate such conditions for students to develop such precious qualities. Evidence shows that some people are especially sensitive and determined basically because they have an adverse childhood and their living condition required them to observe and learn constantly. Finally, Luck is undoubtedly an essential factor leading to people’s success but schools never have the ability to make their students lucky. Some people claim that Bill Gates is so successful partly because he is lucky to be in the right place at the right time.

It is, however, unjustified to deny the roles and substantial contributions of formal education to people’s accomplishments. First of all, universities and institutions provide learners with an ideal environment to develop their skills and equip them with knowledge to work in the knowledge-based economy. At school, the program is logically designed by fully-qualified experts and students are inspired as well as pushed by gifted educators with their dedication and passion for their mission. Hence, students can save a lot of time for learning and they may fully deploy their talents when they are in a proper condition with good guidance. A comprehensive study conducted in various settings reveals that the impacts of teachers on students are immense and long-lasting. Besides, pressure from peers also plays a role in pushing students to advance on their ladder of success. For example, when comparing themselves with friends at school, students will soon realize what they need to do to keep pace with peers and to effectively develop themselves. Last but not least, a qualification earned from a reputable school is a basic requirement for many work positions in today’s world. No hospitals and schools accept doctors or teachers without relevant qualifications.

In conclusion, it is hard to learn all the qualities of successful people from schools but there is no point in denying the values of formal schooling to people’s success and happiness. Hence, young people should be encouraged to access high education so that they can maximize their potentials and live out their dreams.