Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at school. To what extent advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

International visits have long been considered as a life-team opportunity for both visitors and the local students. However, there are always two sides of a coin, sometimes it also causes drawbacks for people. This essay will denote to what extent the bright sides can exceed the setbacks.

First of all, it is no doubt that cultural experiences can be easily learned and adopted through this type of visit. For one, the local students have a chance to meet people from other countries and religions who could teach them some values of their cultures as well as languages and vice versa. For another, usually most of the exchange students are talented and gifted, so after seeing and talking with others who are better than them, local students might try to surpass them by working harder and broder the horizon to keep pace with the international students. Therefore, it is clear that they can learn and obtain a myriad of unforgettable and valuable lessons as well as interminable motivations from exchange visits. Last but not least, it is the fact that a trip to other countries for exchange students usually is well-funded by the government and a certain proportion of their budget will be utilized to support the schools where they visited. Hence, the schools’ manager might use these money to enhance the qualities of their schools such as buying more advanced equipment for teaching purposes.

On the other hand, permit me to name some disadvantages of this phenomenon. It is evident that culture shock and language barrier will inevitably happen when two completely distinct cultures intersect with each other. As a result, it might provoke mis-understanding and sometimes, disturbance for both local and exchange students. However, according to what I’ve mentioned above, exchange students are chosen by qualified educationalists and experts , their task is to make sure that their language skills must be adequate as well as their soft skills. Hence, it will be solved after a few days and no severe consequences formed. Last but definitely not least, one reason why people oppose oversea-visit is because they apprehend that it will interfere with the overall ambiance at schools and others' lives. For example, when international students come to visit and study, some adaptations might need to be made, namely changing local students’ schedule so they have free time to interact with their guests or hosting some festivals or meetings at school.. However, those reasons are implausible and if there are some interruptions, I don't think the environments at school will be compromised because those activities are the purpose of the trips- bring students from different countries close together and more importantly, it will not take a tremendous time or space to be fulfilled, though.

All in all, despite all the advantages of international visits to local schools listed with detailed evidence above, there are still some drawbacks. However, I strongly agree that it is crucial for students to meet people from a variety of countries with new cultures because it will immensely benefit both sides and provide a chance to develop themself and learn new things.