Some people think that education should be free for everyone.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Education has long been perceived as an indispensable part in the development of individuals as well as society as a whole. Hence, it is suggested that education should be provided for free so that all people can get access to education without the financial concern. However, I just agree with this idea to some extent and this essay will clarify my position.

To begin with, there are certainly some arguments to advocate this point of view. The fact remains that education is inaccessible to some people basically because of the financial burden from tuition fees. Hence, when education is free, people from rural folks or children from low-income families or children from disadvantaged families may overcome this barrier and have the chance to go to school. A recent comprehensive study conducted in Vietnam reveals that the primary concern to parents in many remote or mountainous areas is the money spent on their children’s schooling since it is beyond their management and the outcome of this seems ambiguous to many of them. Since special financial supports were offered by the authorities, the drop-out rates in such areas fell dramatically. Moreover, the proposed policy is of great use in narrowing the gap between the rich and the poor across the land as children have the equal chance to access education regardless of their challenges. No matter what the government in power does and how hard they try, they cannot effectively help poor people unless education become easy, accessible and affordable to this group. There are various examples in developing countries such as Vietnam to illustrate this point.

It is, nonetheless, worth pointing out that this policy is not entirely free from drawbacks. What most policy-makers and governors are concerned about is the enormous sum of money to finance education for all children across the nation. In some countries, this idea is infeasible since money from the state budget has to be logically allocated for different sectors such as education, medical care , national defense, infrastructure , tourism and other things. In Vietnam, for instance, education is always regarded as a priority but education is not free for all and notwithstanding cut in many other programs, the investment in education has been rising in the last few years. Another factor to take into account is the efficiency of this suggestion. The bottom line is that people from well-to-do families do not need the financial support from the government when it comes to their education and people have a tendency to underestimate what is given for free. In case students drop out or learn without true passion and determination, this investment is undoubtedly a waste of money.

By way of conclusion, there are still arguments over the question of whether education should be free or not. However, my contention is the authority needs to come up with a wide range of steps so as to help people to get access to education and the financial incentives should not be viewed as the sole option.