Nowadays, people waste a lot of food that was brought from shops and restaurants.

Why do you think people waste food?

What can be done to solve this problem?

Food shortages are now no longer a challenge in most parts of the world. However, a new problem that emerges in our today’s society is the waste of food people buy from shops or order in restaurants. This essay will clarify the relevant causes of this phenomenon and considers some feasible measures to prevent this situation.

It is generally acknowledged that people’s living standards have been substantially enhanced all over the globe, leading to more prosperity and wealthier population who have more demand to satisfy themselves. There is no doubt that famine is not a common concept in today’s world where mass production combined with industrial agriculture using genetic engineering has boosted the productivity to feed the huge population. As a result, the vast majority of the population no longer struggle to buy basic food and they can enjoy a wide range of both locally-made food as well as imported food products. In some cases, people buy or order more than what they may consume and the simplest way to deal with food left behind is to throw it away. Vietnam is a case in point; about two or three decades ago when people still lived in poverty and hunger was a prevalent headache, food was treasured and hardly did people waste any food but this is now no longer the case. After a dinner at a luxurious restaurant with a fabulous setting, eating all the food or taking food left behind home seems to be a rare choice of people. Another explanation for this tendency is the fact that many young people are not aware of the true values of food or the hidden cost behind the food they eat on a daily basis.

With regard to the question of what steps we should take to prevent or at least discourage this practice, it is worth pointing out that education is by far the most effective solution. Only by educating people and raising their awareness can we make them realize how precious food is to our well-being and survival. The fact remains that famine is not a common phenomenon but kids in some third-world nations are still severely malnourished and many of them died because of starvation or the lack of quality food products. A comprehensive study conducted on a global scale reveals that the amount of food wasted every year from restaurants, shops, markets, malls and homes may feed a large number of kids in African nations and even save lives of thousands of people in need of food. No matter how easy it is for people to earn a living and to buy food, they should never waste what they take for granted since many other fellow human beings still need such foods to feed their hungry kids and dying aged parents.

By way of conclusion, despite the fact that we cannot totally eliminate this practice, relentless efforts should be made to change people’s frame of mind and attitude towards foods so that they will save food for their own sake and for the environment as well.