It is argued that a tourist that travels abroad should respect the traditions and the customs of the host country. This essay partially agrees with this statement because adapting the local culture is dependent on the place where tourists are.

From an ethical perspective, it is immoral to publicly show a disrespectful behavior that contradicts the customs and the beliefs of local inhabitants. Not taking into account the feelings of the indigenous people who host others from different backgrounds is hurtful and irresponsible. Tourists, prior to traveling to any place, should at least inform themselves about the culture of their destinations so as to avoid conflicts with the locals and enjoy the maximum throughout the period of their vacations. For instance, a common trend in most of the UK’s travel agencies to offer free booklets and magazines to familiarize their clients about other’s cultures, before traveling.

On the other hand, tourists should have an absolute freedom in areas that are restricted and allotted for them. That is to say, totally depriving people who travel to other nations from their total freedom will make them shy away from visiting countries that coerce them to abide by the local culture, even when they are alone. In the UAE, for instance, drinking spirits is prohibited in public areas, but not in hotels and places that are designated for tourists.

In conclusion, I believe that adapting others’ cultures depends on the place where tourists are. It is compulsory for foreign incomers to respect the local culture in public areas; however; it is not necessary to do so in private places that are allotted for tourists.