Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admissions to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Some museums stipulate a fixed fee for entrance, while others are free of charge. Despite the fact that some people would be deprived of using these facilities because they cannot afford to pay the fees, this development would contribute to generating income for keeping museums operate. Therefore, I believe that the benefits that can be yielded from imposing fees outweigh the drawbacks.

The primary drawback that may result from charging people for entering these buildings is the fact that some would not be able to afford to pay the imposed fee. Some categories of society, such as unemployed people and students, would not have access to frequent museums because they do not have a constant source of income. This would, therefore, deprive people of enjoying arts and learning about ancient cultures and customs. In Paris, for instance, tourists and locals are more familiar with all crafts and paintings in Louvre museum because people can freely visit it without paying a single penny.

On the other hand, imposing charges per entrance would generate profits that can be used in turn in upgrading museum equipment and maintaining hem operate. Not only is it beneficial to museums as facilities that need to be managed, but also for people because they would be able to appreciate art and history when they are paying for its usage. For example, the Guardian Newspaper has reported lately that the fees that imposing a symbolic fee in the UK for art facilities usage are meant to upgrade these amenities and renovate them.

In conclusion, I believe that generally the imposed fees for using these buildings are usually symbolic and anyone can afford to pay them. Also, the revenue yielded from charging customers would be used in paying museums' staff. Thus, the advantages of this policy far outweigh any demerit.