Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford.

What are the reasons for this behavior?

What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Many people are up to neck with debts because of buying goods and items they are not in need for. This essay believes that the driving force that brought about this trend is media advertisements and the availability of credit cards. However, in order to tackle this issue, it is strongly recommended to launch an awareness campaign to educate people about the importance of shying away from getting loans.

supermarkets resort to marketing techniques, such as setting promotions and special offers, just to sway potential customers and turn in more profits. People get compelled by these offers and cannot resist passing up these opportunitiesو and purchase even things they already have. Even when customers have no cash, the availability of chip cards at their disposal enables them to purchase things they want and pay later. For instance, a study that was carried out by The Institute of Economy of Paris showed that more than 50 families got their houses confiscated due to the piling debts they could not afford to pay back.

In order to counteract this predicament, launching an awareness campaign is deemed to be an ideal solution to save people from getting into debt. When people are aware of the dire consequences they are more likely to encounter in the long term, such as getting their possessions sequestrated, they would eventually avoid falling in this trap. For example, a similar initiative was conducted in Singapore, in 2015, and the result was astonishing: more than 40% decrease in the overall number of people in debt compared to the past year.

In conclusion, the common factor that leads people to buy goods they can dispense of is due to the availability of credit cards and promotions and sales. However, spreading consciousness and education are considered to be an ideal solution to combat this recent phenomenon.