Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some would argue that mixed schools are more advantageous in many aspects than single-sex school, others think that males and females would learn more efficiently in separate classes. Despite the fact that the latter institutions enable students to concentrate more on their studies and express themselves freely, I believe that mixed schools are far more beneficial to young students because this prepares students from an early age to interact with the second part, overcoming the hurdle of shyness.

On the one hand, young male and female students should study in separate classrooms because they would be more focused on their studies, make more concerted efforts and have fewer restrictions to express their opinions openly in class. Therefore, students would interact more frequently with their tutor and learn more effectively. For instance, a study that was conducted by Hamburg University showed that students performance in single-sex schools is higher than that of mixed schools. However, I don’t agree with this school of thought because young children will face problems to deal with the second part in the long term.

On the other hand, Boys and girls who study in mixed schools are more likely to develop their soft skills, such as communication and teamwork, that put them a step forward to secure rewarding jobs and become future leaders. For example, a study that was carried out by Manchester University revealed that more than 90% of workers in the UK who occupy managerial positions had more leniency and better attitudes they acquired from childhood. I totally agree with this approach because friction between girls and boys harness communication and interpersonal skills needed in the long run.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that although studying in single-sex schools helps children learn effectively and interact more with their teachers, studying in mixed schools prepare students for the future and enables them to acquire skills they need later in life.