Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developed nations should allow people that are devastated by wars and famines to enter their territory and look after them by providing them with shelters and food. This essay totally agrees with this statement because rich countries have a surplus of resources that can be shared and it is also a humanitarian action to do so.

The primary reason why the rich world should accept people leaving their nations due to wars and natural calamities is that it does not really affect western nations to host these inflicted people. Rich countries have strong economies and have several sources of incomes that can suffice the local needs and may even allow others to share their prosperity and welfare. For instance, Germany was one of the main countries that hosted more refugees due to its prosperous economy and the aging population that has always been a serious issue to government legislators.

In addition to that, it is highly moral and humanitarian to welcome refugees that have fewer chances to survive in their motherland. It is unethical for wealthy countries to reject this category of people because every person has a right to survive in peace and security. If refugees remain in their motherland, they are more likely to be killed due to political and army conflicts. For instance, more than 200 innocent children were bombed in a week in Iraq in 2005 which was a great shame to many nations and this has prompted many nations to accept thousands of asylum requests in the UK and Sweden.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that developed nations have moral obligations to accept displaced people and also have a stronger economy that can withstand foreign newcomers.