Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people would argue that third level students should have the absolute freedom to choose the subjects they prefer; however, others think that they should seek a better prospect by studying modern technological and scientific subjects. Despite the fact that studying scientific specialties offer substantial opportunities for young people secure better jobs, I firmly believe that university students should not be pressurized and must be given the opportunity to express themselves and study what they love the most.

It is believed that tertiary students should be forced to select technology and science related subjects because there are more potential for new alumnus to secure rewarding jobs. There are ample opportunities for new graduates to flourish, pursue a professional career and lead a lavish and comfortable lifestyle when they specialize in these fields. For instance, a survey that was carried out by Stanford University revealed that the predominant stimulus behind studying in this institution is seeking a better avenir. However, I disagree with this point of view because not all people are meant to be scientists.

On the other hand, coercing university students to study certain subjects is oppressive and unfair. Students should opt for what suits them because the likelihood that they stand out and become successful is higher when students enjoy what they study. Motivation, perseverance and talent are the driving force behind success. For instance, Mozart would not have been the famous musician we know today without choosing what he had always loved. I totally agree with this school of thought because it spurs young students and encourages them to be future models of success.

In conclusion, while closing science related specialties may enable some university graduates later secure better jobs and lead a prodigal lifestyle, I firmly believe that students should be utterly free to chose what they like because they may dropout due to lack of motivation when studying what they are not fond of.