Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that TV should be used as a means of education. Others, however, think its sole role is to entertain people. This essay will first discuss both these views before coming to conclusion that television can be used for both but the time being spent behind TV screen should be limited.

On the one hand, some would argue that television is meant to be a source of fun and amusement because it is affordable and offers a range of programs. That is to say, TV has become ubiquitous and the variety of programs being telecasted provided people with a myriad of options to enjoy whatever they are fond of, ranging from sports programs to movies to latest serials. For example, a survey that was carried out by the Institute of Media and Communication of Paris showed that more than 70% of adults spend more than 5 hours a day watching movies and sports.

On the other hand, it is believed that television should only be used to watch educational programs, such as National Geography and BBC channels. This is because it is a worthwhile source of information and offers a very effective way of conveying knowledge through an audiovisual system which can help people memorize and learn at faster rate than reading a book or a magazine. For instance, a study that was carried out by Manchester University found that more than 70% of primary school-toppers in the UK were keen on watching instructive TV programs.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that TV can be informative and entertaining at the same time for all age groups. However, the time being spent behind TV should be limited because sitting near to it may result in dire consequences, such as TV addiction, gaining extra-weight and vision impairment