Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teaching art in primary schools should be imposed like any other subject. This essay totally agrees with this statement because art boosts young students’ creativity and improve their performance at school.

The primary reason why teaching art subjects as a part of children’s curriculum should be enforced in primary schools is that it promotes innovation. That is to say, children who study fine arts such as music composition express a spectrum of emotions and ideas. School coaching will offer substantial opportunities for these young buds’ imagination to develop and thrive as children have fertile brains with great potency to acquire knowledge. For example, a study that was carried out by Yale University revealed that more than 70% of creative employees in more than 500 American companies had an artistic background.

As well as that, art contributes significantly to improving children’s academic performance at school. In other words, children who study art modules have ample opportunities to unwind and unleash all their talents during these classes. Signing or dancing classes help them dispense of the stress they undergo while studying other classic subjects, such as mathematics. For instance, a study that was conducted by Manchester University showed that students who studied art subjects as an official module at school outperformed their counterparts in other schools that do not include art as a mandatory subject.

In conclusion, I firmly believe teaching art to children at an early age broaden their horizon and help them develop a vivid imagination, which is the engine of creativity. Also, having art classes help children achieve better grades at school.