Deciding a job has always been an increasing concern for young people. On the one hand, many people think young people should choose whatever jobs they want. However, others feel they should choose practical jobs. The merits of both arguments will be analyzed before a conclusion is decided upon.

Firstly, some argue young people should pursue their passion even if it is a pipe dream. For example, a favorite job makes people feel inspired when working, increasing their mood for work. When people feel happy with their work, they are likely to boost their productivity significantly. Although this setup leaves job seekers a source of motivation, it does little to consider all the dimensions of someone’s self. Thus, the merits of this opinion are hard to support.

However, many other people urge young people to choose a realistic job and think about the future. To a broader extent, people should consider what job aptitude they have possessed. For example, my friend does want to become a singer but she does not have any innate talent and just has a passion for singing. Moreover, what financial state you are in which is also an important factor that needs to be considered since it helps people to avoid the circumstance that people do not provide themselves with enough money. This results in a decrease in the likelihood of quitting the job to find another decent one instead. Thus, the heightened benefits of this opinion regarding deciding on a job can clearly be seen.

After looking at these two opposing points of view, it is felt that choosing a job swiftly without any thorough thinking is not a sustainable way to have a better life in the future. Thus, it is hoped that they will have a better look at themselves in terms of every aspect when deciding on a job.