In recent years, people tend to consume goods like clothes, cars and other items from famous brands. There are a number of reasons for this trend, which is having a significant impact on individuals.

There are two important reasons why more and more people want to buy famous products. Firstly, people want their products to be ensured in terms of quality. The more prevalent brands are, the better their quality is. People suppose that these goods are still being in the competitive market for years as they are trusted by consumers. For example, goods manufactured by Apple are preferable to other gadgets brands, which are less prevalent. Secondly, the possession of these famous products is also a way to show off their wealth, style and social class as well. If they use ordinary goods, no one will recognize them.

However, this tendency could have negative consequences in terms of benefits for individuals. Some brands might use marketing strategies to manipulate consumers. For example, using digital marketing makes people believe in the quality of products without thoroughly checking. Another negative factor is that consumers will skip other brands despite the fact that they are high-quality goods but not endorsed by a great number of celebrities. This leads to an unwanted monopoly of some brands in the market, which costs consumers a great deal of money.

In conclusion, this consumerism is a result of people’s need to have high-quality products and demonstrate on their own. As it deprives consumers of having a look at others, this trend is largely negative.