Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Animal captivity in zoos has been highlighted as an emerging issue, capturing significant public outcry due to the questions of animal cruelty. Despite the positive implications regarding to wildlife protection, the closure of zoos would be more beneficial.

On the one hand, zoos could be fraught with many cruelty-related pitfalls. First, Since animals are kept in captivity from the natural habitats, their exposure to monotonous habits and tangible enclosures such as cages and fences , limiting their physical movements and flexibility could be an inevitable product. This could be associated with animals’ susceptibility to mental disorders, leading to the formation of stress and abnormal repetitive behaviours. In addition, Due to limited budget disbursements on many zoo facilities, animal welfare negligence ensues, making animal breeds subjected to squalid conditions, regimens with nutrition deficiencies and even sometimes barbaric repressive acts from caretakers. If animals have to endure such conditions for a specific period of time, the possibilities of their vulnerability to malnutrition and hazardous epidemic are relatively high, eventually shortening their life expectancy.

On the other hand, it is true that zoos could act as contributors to the wildlife protection. Specifically, by keeping animals in zoos or other conservancy facilities with forestry guards, the protection of wildlife animals from possible poachers could be guaranteed, thereby increasing the number of wildlife species and maintaining the ecosystem balance. For instance, in many African nations, the local official authorities pour considerable public budget on zoos and many animal preservation parks for the conservation of rhino breeds, which have fell prey to many poachers who would conduct illegal underground trafficking activities of the rhino horns to many Asian nations for its medical treatment beliefs, making their numbers triple and saving them from the brink of extinction.

In conclusion, I believe that animals should not be kept in zoos because of the problems of mental disorders from limited movements and low-quality living conditions. The governments and animal rights advocates should take effective initiatives to combat the issues of animal cruelty in zoo facilities for the betterment of animal well-being.