Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there are many individuals who opine that zoos are inhumane and should be shut down, while others suggest zoos play an important role as homes for animals. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and provide my perspective which supports the formal.

On the one hand, animals will be safe in zoos where they are provided with accommodations, food and drinks. Zoo helps wild animals stay away from hunters and natural disasters (deforestation, drought, wildfire, landslide…). However, according to a recent research, 70-75% of animals in zoos are not under threat and need protection. Furthermore, zoo animals might face a plethora of dangers which are brought by people who come to the zoo. For instance, visitors can easily feed the animals without any checking process and if a mad terrorist gave an elephant a bomb, no one would know what happens.

On the other hand, most animals being taken to zoos are locked in cages. That leads to two significant consequences: wild animals lose their freedom and survival instinct like hunting. For example, professor Nguyen Cao Ky Duyen who works for Vietnam Science and Technology Institution has done a survey which showed that a tiger after staying in cages for 6 months to one year and eating food that is prepared by humans will gradually forget how to hunt a bait. In my opinion, zoos nowadays should be replaced with other places which allow animals to return to their wildlife such as safari, national parks, and animal conservation centers.

In conclusion, zoos should be closed down and changed to better facilities which are more friendly to animals.